The National Curriculum

The National Curriculum

The national curriculum outlines the topics and key stages for each year group.


Schools and colleges in the UK are divided into Key Stages:


  • Foundation stage (pre-school; non compulsory)
  • Key Stage 1  (ages 4-7)
  • Key Stage 2 (ages 7-11)
  • Key Stage 3 (ages 11-14)
  • Key Stage 4 (ages 14-16)
  • Key Stage 5 ( ages 16-18)


The key stage determines the content of the lessons you’ll be teaching. This system is used to standardise the educational topics across schools, and ensure that all students are receiving the same standard of education. However, there are various options per topic; not all students of the same age will be taught the exact same topics.


Free schools and academies are responsible for their own curriculum and do no have to follow the national outlines.

Tel: +44 (0)20 8371 8030